262 +/-Acres | Midway Road | Woodford County, Kentucky
Strategically located in the heart of the Thoroughbred industry, Stonewall Farm is situated on 262 lush acres and adjoins Lane’s End and divisions of Airdrie Stud.
Stonewall Farm is as steeped in rich tradition as a Bluegrass farm can be while boasting to be one of the most highly improved, state-of-the-art horse farm on the market. Stonewall received its name from the grand old stone wall (one of only two dated in Kentucky) that graces the front of the farm.
Built in the late 1700’s, this 6,525 square foot home has been totally restored with complementary additions and brick porches. An elaborate crushed brick courtyard with a fountain and walkways connect the extensive farm office to the 13 stall stallion barn—built for Champion sire Medaglia d’Oro—and the state-ofthe-art breeding shed.
Ten additional barns with 121 stalls are strategically located throughout the property—all of which are recently built or refurbished. A 7 furlong track is currently in use on the farm, and there is a training division on the farm allocated for the breaking and training of young horses. Auxiliary housing consists of a 1 1/2 story log home (now a triplex), a guest house, and four employee houses.
Please see more at the comprehensive website for Stonewall Farm Kentucky.
Year Built: 1839
Heating: Forced Air
# of Buildings:
Property Size: 262 Acres
MAIN RESIDENCE: The rear portion of this stately home dates back to the 1790’s; the one and half story Colonial front was added in the late 1820’s or early 1830’s; the home was completely renovated in 2002 with additions by E. K. Gaylord, Jr., and new additions were added in 2004. The entire roof and second floor structure were replaced and the kitchen and rec room were added.
Full length brick porches now adorn the front two levels of this magnificent home.
Columns and railings are from African mahogany. The original floor joists and rafters from the second floor were removed and transformed into components and cabinets for the wine cellar. The beams that flank the master bathroom barrel vault were salvaged from the original 1790’s part of the house.
Old ash floors showcase the first floor. All of the woodwork in the home is new, primarily maple with inlaid ebonized mahogany. Some of the doors were rebuilt from the originals.
The original windows in the front were salvaged for their character, as were the sidelights of the entry. All of the original plumbing, electrical and heating were removed and replaced with new modern technology systems.
There are basically two separate plumbing systems, one for the master bath and one for the rest of the house. Both systems incorporate a hot water circulating system that eliminates the wait for hot water. Four zones of HVAC were installed (natural gas for heat).
The new roof is a fifty year shingle and all of the new flashing and guttering is copper. A two level brick terrace, accessed off the family room and master bedroom, was constructed and includes a DCS grill and cooking surface plus upper and lower gas assisted fireplaces.
The landscape was enhanced and paths and lighting were added to create a unique atmosphere for evening walks.